1376 Piedmont Road San Jose, CA 95132-2427



Phone: (408) 923-1800 Fax: (408) 923-0623

Measure K Committee Meeting Minutes

June 3, 2020

Via Zoom Meeting

1. The meeting was called to order at 3:32 p.m.

Attendees: Christy Boyd, Kevin Franklin, Donna Glanville, Sally Owyang, Joshua Quitoriano, Margot Sandoval, and Jai Srinivasan

- 2. The March 10, 2020 minutes were reviewed and adopted as read. Motioned by Ms. Christy Boyd, 2nd by Mr. Jai Srinivasan, none opposed.
- 3. The 2020-2021 meeting dates were discussed and selected by the committee as follows:
 - October 6, 2020
 - January 5, 2021
 - March 2, 2021
 - June 8, 2021

Motioned by Mr. Jai Srinivasan, 2nd by Ms. Christy Boyd, none opposed.

- 4. The June 23, 2020 report to the board was presented by Mr. Kevin Franklin and Mr. Josh Quitoriano. The committee reviewed the report. Mr. Kevin Franklin addressed to the committee that the current Parcel Tax would be ending in June 2022. Currently the District receives over \$1.7 million in parcel tax much needed revenue. Ms. Donna Glanville asked if the District will be going out for another Parcel Tax and what the cost would be, also, if another parcel passed, if the amount taxed would be the same as the current \$79. Mr. Kevin Franklin estimates that the cost would be between 70K 90K; with the mailings that are mailed to each voter costing around \$20K \$30K. Mr. Franklin continued stating that at this time he could not say if the current \$79 tax would remain the same or be hire if a new parcel tax was passed. Ms. Donna Glanville volunteered to present this report to the board at the June 23, 2020 board meeting.
- 5. Mr. Josh Quitoriano reviewed the 2019-2020 Estimated Actuals and the 2020-2021 Proposed Adopted Budget. He explained that the current year Estimated Actuals has a negative balance, and in order to balance, a full FTE will have to be charged to the general fund. For the Proposed Budget that same FTE will not carry over to the 2020-2021 budget. Mr. Kevin

Thelma Boac Richard Claspill David Cohen Hugo Jimenez Khoa Nguyen

Franklin also mentioned that there have been many more refunds provided due to more community members being aware of the waiver.

- 6. Ms. Margot Sandoval reviewed the current committee members list with the committee. She noted that we had several committee members whose terms had expired in June 30, 2019. Two committee members have served for over 10 years: Ms. Anh Le, and Ms. Donna Glanville. Ms. Donna Glanville notified the committee that this was her last year as a committee member. Ms. Anh Le was not available, but had mentioned at a previous meeting that this year would be her last year as a member. Ms. Margot Sandoval will contact her to confirm. Ms. Christy Boyd, and Ms. Margot Sandoval agreed to continue as committee members until June 30, 2022.
- 7. The meeting adjourned at 4:02 p.m.